By Earl Heath, Contributing Sports Writer

After a big weekend of college football Matt Corral of Ole Miss and University of Texas linebacker John Ossai were honored with the Walter Camp Offensive and Defensive Players of the Awards. 

A very hot Corral from Long Beach Poly connected on his first 19 passes on the way to going 31 of 34 passes for 412 yards and six touchdowns as the Rebels  

(2-4, 2-4 SEC) knocked off Vanderbilt 54-21 in an SEC match-up. The 19 in a row broke Eli Manning’s school record for consecutive passes that stood for 19 years. 

Matt Corral (2) former Long Beach Poly Jackrabbit completed his first 19 passes while throwing for 412 yards and six touchdowns for Ole Miss. (Photo Credit: Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics).

 “Matt and Elijah (Moore) were light’s out. It’s hard to go 31 of 34 on the air,” Coach Lane Kiffin said. “Keith Carter and I were talking about it and he could remember the incompletions. That’s pretty cool if you can remember all the incompletions.” 

The sophomore is the second Ole Miss player to earn the award since it origin in 2004. The last was former Rebel running back Dexter McCluster in 2009. 

On the defensive side it was Ossai of Texas who sacked Oklahoma State QB Spenser Sanders on 4th down in the second overtime to give the Longhorns a 41-34 BIG-12 win over the Cowboys (4-1, 3-1 BIG-12). 

“Big time players make big time plays in big time games,” said Texas QB Sam Ehlinger.   

The junior from Conroe, Texas had 12 tackles (7 solo) to go with three quarterback sacks recovered two fumbles while forcing another. The Longhorns are 4-2, 3-2 in the BIG-12. 

Ossi is the 10th Longhorn to earn the award since 2004. The last was his teammate Ehlinger on September 13. 

Walter Camp is known as the Father of American football. He first selected an All-American team in 1889.The Walter Camp Foundation is an all-volunteer organization based in New Haven, Connecticut. It founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideas of Camp and continue the tradition to select annual All-American team.    

This is the 17th year that the Foundation has awarded one Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week. Recipients are selected from a group of national media members and administrated by the Foundation.