By Earl Heath, Contributing Sports Writer 

D’ Eric King and Tarron Jackson were named the Walter Camp Offensive and Defensive Players of the week for their play in college football the past week. 

King who is in the middle of a fight for the ACC title completed 31 of 41 passes for 535 yards and 5 touchdowns while leading # 11 Miami to a 44-41 win over Virginia Tech. He also rushed for 106 yards on 15 carries.  

The Redshirt Senior became the only player in FBS History in the last 25 years to throw for 500 yards and have no interceptions for two different schools (U of Houston 2018). He was also named W. Camp Player of the Week doing that week.  

“D’Eric King came to play,” said Canes tight-end Will Malloy. “He came to lead us and that’s exactly what he did. The preparation he put in this week the commitment he has to this team is exactly why we won this game.” 

The Canes (6-1, 5-1 ACC) are tied for second place with Clemson who fell to Notre Dame in an ACC classic over the weekend Jackson put on a show with 10 tackles, 2.5 quarterback sacks, 2 hurries and a force fumble to lead #15 Coastal Carolina to a 23 -6 win over South Alabama.  

The Senior from Aiken, South Carolina is the first player in school history to win this award. 

The Chanticleers (7-0, 5-0 Sun Belt) have had back-to-back 5-7 seasons.   

“It’s been a blessing having been through so much (with teammates) we talk about it all the time the way things were and to see where we are at now it’s a blessing.”   

 Walter Camp is known as the Father of American football. He first selected an All-American team in 1889.The Walter Camp Foundation is an all-volunteer organization based in New Haven, Connecticut. It was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideas of Camp and continue the tradition to select annual All-American team.   

This is the 17thyear that the Foundation has awarded one Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week. Tarron Jackson is the first winner was selected from Coastal Carolina since it originated in 2004.  

Recipients are selected from a group of national media members and administrated by the Foundation.