By Earl Heath, Contributing Sports Writer

Dallas Cowboys Owner Jerry Jones, Hall of Famer Drew Pearson and Michigan State Running back Kenneth Walker lll were all in New Haven, Connecticut. They were attending the 54th Annual Walter Camp Wards Dinner.  

Jones received the Distinguished American Award which goes to an individual who has use his or her talents to attain his or her success.  

In business, private life or public service and who may have accompanied that which no other has done.  

Jones bought the Cowboys in 1989 from Bum Bright for 140 million dollars. Today they are the most valued team over 6.5 billion.   

The team has three Super Bowl titles during his ownership reign.  

Jones was born in Inglewood, He became involved in the St. Louis Rams move back to Los Angeles with Stan Kroenke in 2016.   

He was instrumental in brokering a deal between Stan Kroenke, San Diego Chargers owner Dean Spanos, and Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis   

to ensure that Kroenke’s SoFi Stadium plan passed, which it did via a 30-2 owners vote in favor.  

After being in the building two seasons the RAMS are Super Bowl Champions.  

Previous Distinguished American Award winners include Robin Roberts, Vern Lundquist and Floyd Little.   

  The Walter Camp Football Foundation is an all-volunteer organization founded in1967. Its based in New Haven and   

overseas current entities into the oldest college All-American Football team. It was founded by Camp in 1889 and   

is voted on FBS Coaches and Sports Information Directors.       

It took a while, but the Walter Camp All-American weekend finally took place. The event usually held in January    

was cancelled last year due to COVID and this year was postponed twice until held recently in March.     

Pearson was named Man of the Year by WCFF. While playing the New Jersey native was a three-time Pro-Bowler who led the team to three Super Bowls.   

In 1983 he passed Bob Hayes as cowboy career leader in catches.  

He entered the Cowboys ring of honor in August 2011.  

RAMS had two recent recipients Von Miller in 2019 and he was preceded by Hall of Famer Orlando Pace in 2016.  

Michigan State’s Walker III has won the Walter Camp Award, given to college football’s “Player of the Year”, determined by a group of NCAA Div. 1 football coaches and sports information directors.  

The Arlington ,Tennessee native finished second in the nation in rushing yards (1,636), fourth in carries (263) and eighth in rushing touchdowns (18).   

The BIG Ten s leading rusher was not among the four finalists for the Heisman Trophy, but winning the Walter Camp Award makes him as one of the best players of the 2021 college football season. No player had ever won the Walter Camp Award while not being a Heisman Trophy finalist, until this season.  

Walker was also named one of two Walter Camp All-American running backs, alongside Iowa State’s Breece Hall.  

There were some 2500 that gathered on the Yale campus for the event.